Dr. Leslie Rossier teaches mathematics to Rhetoric students at The Academy.

Dr. Leslie Rossier teaches mathematics to Rhetoric students at The Academy.

Last weekend on Mother’s Day, my pastor preached a sermon on Genesis 1:26-28, 31. I had read the creation story and cultural mandate before, but never really thought about it as a treatise on motherhood.

There were two major points in the sermon (clearly, he missed the Baptist sermon class on always having three points):

  1. God created motherhood and that motherhood is GOOD.
  2. Motherhood is not only good, but also PURPOSEFUL.

It was during the second point that my pastor asked the question, “Why do we have children?” The answer? ”We have and raise children because there is work to do.”

I immediately thought about The Academy. We consider ourselves engaged in kingdom preparatory work, as we are preparing our children to be lights in the world—not only to illuminate and love the True, the Good, and the Beautiful, but to illuminate and act on that love as our students move into the world upon graduation.

I am grateful as both parent and teacher that we as a school value the entire child – not just academically, but also spiritually. I am grateful that our main purpose is to develop God’s children for God’s purposes, and that we do it unashamedly.

Finally, I am grateful for The Academy and encourage and ask you to pray with me for God’s blessing and direction on our school for many years to come.

